Who is FFF

Watch RUTF Video

Food For Famine Society (FFF) is a Langley, BC based humanitarian organization helping to save the lives of children under the age of five suffering from Severe Acute Malnutrition (SAM). Maria Martini was inspired to make a difference after learning how a fortified peanut paste known as Ready-to-Use Therapeutic Food (RUTF) was being used to treat SAM. This life-saving treatment contains the necessary vitamins and nutrients a malnourished child would need to become healthy.  Maria founded FFF, then engaged MANA Nutrition, a non-profit organization based in Georgia, USA to be the official supplier of RUTF packages. She also partnered with World Vision Canada (WVC) to help support their international relief projects. WVC assists FFF with the distribution of RUTF through their Community-Based Management of Acute Malnutrition (CMAM)  programs. To date, FFF has provided a total of 181 shipping containers of RUTF to: Afghanistan, Angola, Burundi, Central African Republic, Chad, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ethiopia, Lesotho, Malawi, Mali, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Swaziland, Uganda and Zambia.

Watch the video that moved Maria to action!  Anderson Cooper video about RUTF.

Our Donor Promise: Food For Famine Society is a Registered Charitable Organization. 100% of public donations received by FFF go towards the purchase of RUTF. We place a high value on transparency and accountability to all our sponsors and donors. We achieve our donor promise through the generosity of an anonymous donor who has made a pledge to make donations that cover all overhead and administrative expenses, which ensures that public donations go towards the purchase of RUTF. Together with our partners, MANA Nutrition and World Vision Canada, we can assure that donations are used to achieve the greatest possible impact. Since 2009, Food For Famine Society has affected the lives of over 162,900 children.

To date, FFF has provided RUTF to the following countries:

  • Afghanistan
  • Angola
  • Burundi
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Ethiopia
  • Haiti
  • North Korea
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mali
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan
  • Swaziland
  • Uganda
  • Zambia